Mark Alfano is associate professor of philosophy at Macquarie University. He specializes in experimental philosophy, with a focus on social epistemology, social networks, and emotions. He has also published on the ethics of randomized controlled trials in the American Journal of Bioethics. In this project, his main responsibilities were research ethics and theory-building.

Valerio Capraro is a senior lecturer in economics at Middlesex University London. He combines behavioral experiments, mathematical modeling, and numerical simulations to study cooperation, altruism, honesty and other moral behaviors. In this project, his main responsibilities were questionnaire design, paper writing, data collection in Italy.

Aleksandra Cichocka is a senior lecturer in political psychology at the University of Kent (UK), where she leads the Political Psychology Lab. She studies the psychological underpinnings of political attitudes and behaviors. In this project, her main responsibilities were study design, ethics, and analysis.

Hallgeir Sjåstad is an Assistant Professor in Psychology and Behavioral Economics at the Norwegian School of Economics. Hallgeir studies the psychology of time, decision-making, social life and well-being. In this project, his main responsibilities were study design, data collection, and writing.

Paulo Boggio is professor of Social and Affective Neuroscience & Director of the Social and Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory at Mackenzie Presbyterian University, Sao Paulo, Brazil. He combines brain stimulation, ERPs, functional near-infrared spectroscopy, eye-tracking and behavioral experiments to study social interaction, morality and emotions. His main responsibilities were study design, data analysis, data collection in Brazil.

Jay Van Bavel is an Associate Professor of Psychology & Neural Science at New York University, an affiliate at the Stern School of Business in Management and Organizations, and Director of the Social Identity and Morality Lab. Jay’s research examines how collective concerns—group identities, moral values, and political beliefs—shape the mind and brain. In this project, his main responsibilities were designing study, analysis, and writing.


Flavio Azevedo is a Fulbright Fellow & researcher at the Institute for Communication Science (IfKW). His research focuses on ideology, how to measure it, and its role in justifying social and economic injustices. Flavio is the principal investigator of the Psychology of Political Behavior Studies (PPBS) and co-founded and directs FORRT, an award-winning interdisciplinary community integrating open scholarship into higher education. In this project, his main responsibilities were survey methodology, data management and curation, analysis on main paper, leading the ICSMP ‘data paper’, and creation/design/organization of the ICSMP website.

Michele Birtel is an associate professor of social psychology at the University of Greenwich (UK). Her research examines intergroup conflict, multiculturalism, prejudice reduction and health-related stigma. In this project, her main responsibilities were leading the data collection team in the UK, and supporting the coordination of research teams in the different countries.

Tomislav Pavlović is a research assistant at Ivo Pilar Institute of Social Sciences (UK). His research is dominantly focused on political violence and radicalization. In this project, he participated in the development of data analysis plans and conducted several statistical analyses.

Project’s Research Assistants

Local Team Leaders


Alexander Bor, Aarhus University, Denmark

Ali Raza, University of Colorado Boulder

Anat Perry, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Andre Krouwel, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Andreas Olsson, Karolinska Institutet

Andrej Findor, Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia

Andrew J. Vonasch, University of Canterbury

Antoine Marie, Ecole Normale Supérieure - Ulm, Institut Jean Nicod; University Mohammed VI Polytechnic

Arathy Puthillam, Monk Prayogshala, India

Becky Choma, Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada

Biljana Gjoneska, Macedonian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Skopje, North Macedonia

Bojan Todosijevic, Institute of social sciences, Belgrade, Serbia

Brock Bastian, The University of Melbourne

Caroline Leygue, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

César Payán-Gómez, Universidad del Rosario, Bogotá, Colombia

Charles Crabtree, Dartmouth College

Cillian McHugh, University of Limerick

Claus Lamm, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Daniel Flichtentrei, Intramed

Daniel Västfjäll, Linköping University

Dominic J. Packer, Lehigh University

Drozdstoy Stoyanov Stoyanov, Medical University of Plovdiv

Edmunds Vanags, University of Latvia

Elena Agadullina, National Reseach University Higher School of Economics

Elena Kantorowicz-Reznichenko, Erasmus University Rotterdam, the Netherlands

Eran Halperin, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Estrella Gualda, Universidad de Huelva

Hans H. Tung, National Taiwan University

Honorata Mazepus, Leiden University

Jacob Israelashvili, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Jaroslaw Kantorowicz, Leiden University

John Jamir Benzon R. Aruta, De La Salle University, Manila, Philippines

John Paul Minda, Western University, London, Canada

Julián Riaño-Moreno, Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia, sede Villavicencio & Universidad El Bosque. Bogotá, Colombia

June Gruber, University of Colorado Boulder

Katarzyna Jasko, Jagiellonian University

Koenraad Abts, Tilburg University

Koustav De, University of Kentucky,

Lewend Mayiwar, Department of Leadership and Organizational Behaviour, BI Norwegian Business School

Madalina Vlasceanu, Princeton University

Manos Tsakiris, Royal Holloway University of London & The Warburg Institute

Meltem Yucel, University of Virginia

Michael Bang Petersen, Aarhus University

Michele Birtel, University of Greenwich, UK

Ming-Jen Lin, National Taiwan University

Mohammad Sabbir Mansoor, Trichandra Multiple Campus, Kathmandu

Mostak Ahamed Imran, University of Dhaka

Patricia Lockwood, Univeristy of Oxford and University of Birmingham

Paul A. M. Van Lange, VU Amsterdam

Paulo Boggio, Mackenzie Presbyterian University, São Paulo, Brazil

Petra Schmid, ETH Zurich

Radu Umbre<U+0219>, National School for Political and Administrative Studies

Rajib Prasad, Vidyasagar College For Women, Kolkata

Renata Franc, Institute of Social Sciences Ivo Pilar

Robert Ross, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia

Sahba Besharati, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits), South Africa

Sergio Barbosa, Universidad del Rosario, Bogotá, Colombia

Shruti Tewari, Indian Institute of Management, Indore

Theofilos Gkinopoulos, University of Greenwich, UK

Tobias Otterbring, Aarhus University & University of Agder

Tobias Rothmund, Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Germany

Valerio Capraro, Middlesex University London, London, United Kingdom

Waqas Ejaz, National University of Science and Technology (NUST)

William Cunningham, University of Toronto

Yucheng (Eason) Zhang, Hebei University of Technology, China

Yusaku Horiuchi, Dartmouth College

Local Supporting Team


website designed and maintained by Flavio Azevedo.